An Open Letter Regarding Tardiness

Dear Everyone,

Please buy a watch.  Look at your cell phone, laptop, microwave or cable box.  It is about time, literally.  As a supervisor, former manager, and an employee of any number of companies.  Please look at these time keeping devices and remember something important:  Someone out there is counting on you to BE ON TIME.

Not only are you wasting someone else their valuable time but you are wasting money for your company.  We all make plans, there are plans for the afternoon, and plans for the evening.  I am not just talking about hourly employees, but managers, and executives.  I have suffered at the hand of casually late employees more than once since I have been a working stiff, but more in this town than anywhere I have ever worked.  People who roll in anywhere from 5 minutes late to a full half hour after they were supposed to be punched in and underway.  My husband, who has worked mostly in the restaurant business, told me stories of shifts running two hours over because someone couldn’t get to work for one lame reason or another.

There are managers who care not to be at the restaurant to do things that are their jobs to do, but passing them off on people who aren’t qualified, trained, or getting paid enough money to do them.  Managers who leave as soon as their superiors have left for the day, or upon finding out their boss won’t be in, not showing up at all.  Passing the job off on Assistants who are paid barely over minimum wage, then racking up overtime and getting in trouble, all for covering an incompetent bosses ass for him.

There are managers, who for no other reason than that’s what they feel like doing right at the moment, decide to run to the bank with the deposit just before they have to cover for an hourly person until the next shift begins.  An hourly employee who has been warned by that same manager not to exceed the hours they have been given for the week.  Excusing them from the extra hours this time (because they need the time to get to the bank and run their own errands on company time).

I am tired of this laziness, tired of American workers being taken advantage of, and yet being told that their are any number of stooges ready, willing and able to take their job from them, when the managers aren’t setting a very good example for their workers.  At the same time, I don’t like many American workers either.  The number of them that are ethical, considerate, prompt, precise, courteous to customers and their fellow workers, or anyone who is in the service of service, is dwindling to too few.  Honestly I don’t care if the person smiles at me or asks me how I’m doing, I just want them to ring up the sale quickly and send me on my way, if they smile at me and say thank you, have a nice afternoon, well then that’s alright too.  Please don’t follow me around the store hoping to get my pennies from me, if I need you, I will find you.

I have a very simple guideline for timeliness as far as that goes, If you’re early, you’re on time, if your on time you’re late, and if you’re late, you’re fired!  Easy come, easy go.  And for goodness sake, if you’re on the clock, get off your cell phone.

That’s all for now, thanks for reading.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

