Can It John Fleming

Rep. John Fleming says that after feeding his family he can “barely get by on $400,000”

Here is my reply to Mr. Fleming:

Dear Representative Fleming,

Though I am not inclined to try and keep up with the wealthy and powerful in this country, if I were, I certainly hope that with $400,000 per year I could easily get along after feeding my family of six. I can truly identify with your plight, sir, because after paying rent and the rest of the bills I have trouble buying food in the first place.

Now here’s the deal: of the four children that you have at least two are in their mid to late 20’s (or am I mistaken?) The eldest being 27 I would hope that they are taking care of themselves at this point. Now that would put two of them on the lower end between 17 and perhaps 22? (I don’t know because I’m not a stalker), but that would mean one kid at home and one at college? I know college is expensive but I also know that as a physician you probably have been saving since the birth of all of your children to send them to school and probably not relying on college loans to get them through.  So teenagers are expensive, but millions of families that make less than $50,000 per year are doing just fine, albeit probably on credit.  So I still don’t get where all the money has gone.

So, I am to understand that $400,000 will not provide entertainment, insurance, car payments, travel expenses, etc.?  Wake up and look at the people that run your businesses, ask them how they are getting along on minimum wage, ask them how it is they can afford the rent, and to feed and clothe their children, ask what they have to do to make ends meet, because I’ll bet that it doesn’t involve whining about trying to make nearly half a million dollars stretch to cover expenses.

Thanks for your time,
A citizen concerned for your personal budget.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

